The park was designed by architect Oscar Niemeyer for the city’s fourth centenary in 1954, with shady woodlands, lawns and lakes. The park is also home to a number of museums and monuments and some striking buildings designed in the 1950s and only been constructed in the last five years. These include the Pavilhão Lucas Nogueira Garcez, most commonly referred to as the Oca, a brilliant white, polished concrete dome, staging international art exhibitions. Open daily 5am-midnight. Entrance free.