WhereTraveler® Reveals 20th Annual Hotel Excellence Award Honorees

Media Contact: Kailey McGarvey

Individuals, organizations lauded for contributions to the New York City hospitality industry

New York, NY (June 19, 2019): WhereTraveler®, the world’s premier name in travel publishing, announced the recipients of the 2018 Hotel Excellence Awards, which will be awarded at 583 Park Avenue in New York City on Monday, August 19, 2019. The gala will also honor The New York City Association of Hotel Concierges® (NYCAHC), a not-for-profit organization that fosters opportunities for the professional growth and development of concierges and affiliated organizations in the New York Metropolitan area. Now in its 20th year, the annual gala celebrates the innovative leaders who have revolutionized the New York City hospitality industry. This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented by a special guest, to be announced.

“The hotel community is a driving force in a city’s economy and an integral part of the tourism industry in New York,” said Francis Lewis, Editor, WhereTraveler New York. “WhereTraveler New York and IN New York congratulate the honorees on their hard-earned achievements. We are privileged to recognize the dedication, knowledge, enthusiasm, generosity and friendliness of hospitality professionals with the annual Silver Plume and Hotel Excellence Awards. We look forward to continuing our partnership and helping the hospitality industry to grow and thrive.”

Silver Plume Awards

Honors exemplary customer service and performances by concierges and managers, as chosen by their peers. Nominees being honored include:

  • Chef Concierge of the Year: David Canas, Langham Place, New York; Susanne Carter, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park; Briana Davis, 1 Hotel Central Park, New York; Chris McCormack, Crosby Street Hotel; and Raphael Pallais, The Plaza Hotel
  • Concierge of the Year: Jason Amerling, The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel; Ana Jankovic, Night Hotel Times Square; Daniel Perez, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park; David Rahner, JW Marriott Essex House; and Sanam Skelly, Mandarin Oriental, New York
  • Best Supporting Manager: Nick Hafer, The Beekman Hotel, A Thompson Hotel; Francois Luiggi, The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York; John Malbach, Loews Regency Hotel; Peter Roth, Park Hyatt New York; Octavia Marginean, St. Regis Hotel; and Winfred van Workum, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
  • Hotel Excellence Award for Community Service: Maurice Dancer, The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York; Loida Diaz, Trump International Hotel & Tower New York; and Lek Kidkarndee, The New York Hilton Midtown

Hotel Excellence Awards

Selected by hotel guests and the readers of IN New York and WhereTraveler magazine, recipients will be honored in the following categories: Best Budget Friendly; Best Business Service; Best Concierge Service; Best Family Friendly; Best Hotel Amenities; Best Hotel Restaurant; Best Luxury Hotel and Best Overall Hotel Experience.

“For over two decades the New York City Association of Hotel Concierges has been proud to host the Silver Plume Awards with WhereTraveler and IN New York,” said Regena Falling, President, NYCAHC. “We look forward to this opportunity to honor our peers for their exemplary service. Our members are grateful for WhereTraveler’s continued support of the NYCAHC Charitable Fund and Les Clefs d’Or Foundation."

View the Hotel Excellence Awards media kit (PDF)


Morris Media Network is home to the world’s premier media brands. We’re driven to produce original, expert-driven content on topics about which we’re passionate: travel, outdoors, local interest, western and equine. You’ll find that award-winning content delivered across the globe in a powerful suite of print and digital brands. Our history and heritage in publishing dates back to 1785, but our approach today is as fresh as ever as we deliver stand-out magazines, custom publications, mobile apps, specialty websites, trusted guidebooks and travel maps.